Frans Brüggen
1934 - 2014

Once the world's most famous recorder player, Frans Brüggen is now considered among the foremost
experts in the performance of eighteenth century music. He was born in Amsterdam and studied musicology
at the university there. At 21, he was appointed professor at the Royal Conservatoire in The Hague and later
held position as Erasmus Professor at the Harvard University and Regents Professor at the University of Berkeley.
Yet, as Luciano Berio wrote, he was "a musician who is not an archeologist but a great artist".

In 1981, Brüggen, Lucy van Dael and a group of friends founded the Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century, which
consists of some fifty-five members from more than twenty different countries. Five times a year the orchestra assembles
to go on tour. The musicians, who are all specialists in eighteenth and early nineteenth century music, play on period instruments
or on contemporary copies. The wide-ranging repertoire this orchestra has recorded for Philips Classics and
nowadays for The Grand Tour / Glossa includes works by Purcell, Bach, Rameau, Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven,
Schubert, Mendelssohn and Chopin.

In August 2014 the Orchestra had to say farewell to Frans Brüggen. The inspired collaboration with the Orchestra's
founding father came to an end but Brüggens inspiration will remain and lead the Orchestra in the years to come.
The Orchestra decided to continue the tradition of five projects a year, now inviting guests and guest conductors.                                                                                                                                                                   
For list of orchestra members see below

Rémy Baudet
Marc Destrubé 
Staas Swierstra
Hans Christian Euler
Lorna Glover
Kees Koelmans
Anthony Martin 
Guya Martinini 
Franc Polman
Irmgard Schaller
Marinette Troost
Annelies van der Vegt
Dirk Vermeulen
Natsumi Wakamatsu 
Richard Walz 
Sayuri Yamagata
Gustavo Zarba

Emilio Moreno
Marten Boeken
Antonio Clares
Deirdre Dowling
Esther van der Eijk
Else Krieg
Yoshiko Morita

Richte van der Meer 
Emmanuel Balsa
Julie Borsodi
Albert Brüggen
Lidewij Scheifes
Rainer Zipperling

Margaret Urquhart
Robert Franenberg
Christian Staude

Michael Schmidt-Casdorff
Ricardo Kanji
Takashi Ogawa, piccolo

Frank de Bruine
Alayne Leslie

Eric Hoeprich
Guy van Waas
Oscar Arguelles

Danny Bond
Donna Agrell

Teunis van der Zwart
Stefan Blonk
Gijs Laceulle

David Staff
Jonathan Impett
Geoff Harniess
Graham Nicholson

Sue Addisson
Peter Thorley
Stephen Saunders
Peter Harvey

Maarten van der Valk

Back to top